Yankees Name Jasson Domínguez And Will Warren The Winners Of The 2022 Kevin Lawn Awards

The New York Yankees announced on Sunday, March 19, that outfielder Jasson Domínguez and right-handed pitcher Will Warren were named winners of the 2022 Kevin Lawn Awards as the Yankees’ minor league “Position Player of the Year” and “Pitcher of the Year,” respectively.

The annual awards are dedicated to Kevin O’Brien Lawn—the son of longtime Yankees Vice President and Chief of Operations Jack Lawn—who passed away in 1999.

Domínguez, 20, batted .273/.375/.461 (123-for-451) with 92R, 23 doubles, 7 triples, 16HR, 59RBI, 72BB and 37SB in 120 combined games with Single-A Tampa, High-A Hudson Valley and Double-A Somerset in 2022, his first full professional season. He was named a MiLB.com Organization All-Star last season after leading all Yankees minor leaguers in runs scored and ranking second in hits and total bases (208). Domínguez also ranked among Yankees minor leaguers in triples (tied for second), walks (third), extra-base hits (46, tied for third), stolen bases (tied for fourth) and doubles (fifth). The switch hitter participated in the 2022 SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game in Los Angeles, starting in centerfield and hitting a two-run home run. Heading into 2023, he is ranked by Baseball America as the Yankees’ No. 3 prospect and the No. 67 overall prospect in baseball, as well as being named the No. 47 overall prospect (No. 2 in the Yankees’ system) by MLB Pipeline. Additionally, he was named a Florida State League Postseason All-Star and the Florida State League’s “Top MLB Prospect.” Domínguez also played for the Mesa Solar Sox in the Arizona Fall League at the conclusion of the season and was named an AFL Fall Star. The Esperanza, D.R., native was signed by the Yankees as a non-drafted free agent on July 2, 2019.

Warren, 23, combined to go 9-9 with a 3.91 ERA (129.0IP, 119H, 70R/56ER, 42BB, 125K, 10HR) in 26 starts with High-A Hudson Valley and Double-A Somerset in 2022, his first professional season. He allowed 1R-or-fewer in 12 starts, including four scoreless outings. Among Yankees minor leaguers, Warren ranked second in games started, fourth in innings pitched and tied for fourth in wins. The right-handed pitcher was named the Eastern League “Pitcher of the Week” from 7/4-10 after allowing just 3H over 7.0 scoreless innings on 7/7 vs. Bowie (5K). He enters the 2023 season tabbed by Baseball America as the Yankees’ No. 7 prospect, as well as labeled as having the “Best Slider” among Yankees farmhands. Additionally, Warren is ranked as the No. 9 prospect in the Yankees’ system by MLB Pipeline. The Brandon, Miss., native was selected by the Yankees in the eighth round of the 2021 First-Year Player Draft out of Southeastern Louisiana University.

Each player will be presented with a trophy created by Brown’s Trophies of St. Petersburg, as well as an engraved designer watch, courtesy of Betteridge Jewelers.


Year   /   Position Player of the Year   /   Pitcher of the Year

2022   /   OF Jasson Domínguez (TAM/HV/SOM) / RHP Will Warren (HV/SOM)

2021   /   SS Anthony Volpe (TAM/HV)   /   RHP Hayden Wesneski (HV/SOM/SWB)

2020   /   No winners (Minor League season canceled due to COVID)

2019   /   1B Chris Gittens (TRE)   /   RHP Deivi García (TAM/TRE/SWB)

2018   /   INF Brandon Wagner (TAM/TRE)   /   RHP Michael King (TAM/TRE/SWB)

2017   /   3B Miguel Andújar (TRE/SWB)   /   RHP Domingo Acevedo (TAM/TRE/SWB)

2016   /   OF Aaron Judge (SWB)   /   RHP Chance Adams (TAM/TRE)

2015   /   C Gary Sánchez (TRE/SWB)   /   RHP Luis Severino (TRE/SWB)

2014   /   INF Rob Refsnyder (TRE/SWB)   /   RHP Luis Severino (CHA/TAM/TRE)

2013   /   1B Greg Bird (CHA)   /   RHP Shane Greene (TAM/TRE)

2012   /   OF Tyler Austin (GCL/CHA/TAM/TRE)   /   RHP Mark Montgomery (TAM/TRE)

2011   /   C Austin Romine (TRE/SWB)   /   RHP D. J. Mitchell (SWB)

2010   /   SS Eduardo Nuñez (SWB)   /   RHP David Phelps (TRE/SWB)

2009   /   C Austin Romine (TAM)   /   RHP Zach McAllister (TRE)

2008   /   OF Brett Gardner (SWB)   /   LHP Phil Coke (TRE/SWB)

2007   /   OF Austin Jackson (CHA/TAM/SWB)   /   RHP Ian Kennedy (TAM/TRE/SWB)

2006   /   1B Cody Ehlers (TAM)   /   RHP Phil Hughes (TRE)

2005   /   OF Kevin Thompson (COL/TRE)   /   RHP Matt DeSalvo (TRE)

2004   /   1B Andy Phillips (COL/TRE)   /   RHP Chien-Ming Wang (TRE/COL)

2003   /   C Dioner Navarro (TAM/TRE)   /   RHP Jorge DePaula (COL)

2002   /   2B Andy Phillips (COL/NOR)   /   LHP Danny Borrell (NOR/TAM) & RHP Jorge DePaula (NOR)

2001   /   OF Juan Rivera (COL/NOR) & OF Marcus Thames (NOR)   /   LHP Brandon Claussen (NOR/TAM)

2000   /   3B Scott Seabol (NOR)   /   LHP Randy Keisler (COL)

1999   /   2B D’Angelo Jimenez (COL)  & 1B Nick Johnson (NOR)   /   LHP Ed Yarnall (COL)

1998   /   1B Nick Johnson (TAM)   /   RHP Ryan Bradley (TAM/NOR/COL)

1997   /   3B Mike Lowell (COL/NOR)   /   LHP Eric Milton (NOR/TAM)

1996   /   OF Ricky Ledee (COL/NOR)   /   RHP Jay Tessmer (TAM)

1995   /   SS Derek Jeter (COL)   /   RHP Matt Drews (TAM)

1994   /   SS Derek Jeter (TAM/ALB/COL)   /   LHP Andy Pettitte (COL/ALB)

1993   /   OF Billy Masse (COL)   /   LHP Ryan Karp (ALB/PRW/GBO)

1992   /   1B J.T. Snow (COL)   /   RHP Sam Militello (COL)

1991   /   C Kiki Hernandez (GBO/PW) & SS Dave Silvestri (ALB)   /   RHP Ed Martel (ALB/COL) & RHP Sam Militello (PW/ALB)

1990   /   OF Hensley Meulens (COL)   /   RHP Dave Eiland (COL)

1989   /   1B Hal Morris (COL)   /   LHP Steve Adkins (FTL/ALB)

1988   /   1B Kevin Maas (PRW/ALB)   /   RHP Todd Malone (SAR)

1987   /   OF Darren Reed (COL)   /   RHP Dana Ridenour (FTL)

1986   /   3B Chris Alvarez (FTL)   /   RHP Logan Easley (ALB)

1985   /   OF Dan Pasqua (COL)   /   RHP Brad Arnsberg (ALB)

1984   /   C/OF Scott Bradley (COL)   /   LHP Jim Deshaies (COL)

1983   /   OF Brian Dayett (COL)   /   RHP Jose Rijo (FTL/NSH)

1982   /   OF Matt Winters (GBO/NSH)   /   RHP Bob Tewksbury (FTL)

1981   /   1B Don Mattingly (COL)   /   LHP Pete Filson (FTL/NSH)

1980   /   1B Steve Balboni (NSH)   /   RHP Gene Nelson (FTL)